Center for Public Policy Priorities
2017 Texas Legacy
2017 Texas Legacy - Bill White
Bill White is a former Mayor of Houston and a former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Energy under President Bill Clinton. Throughout his distinguished career, Bill White has focused on results over rhetoric, and common sense solutions over ideology. While serving as Mayor, he earned national praise and the 2007 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award for his swift action after Hurricane Katrina. Bill White exemplifies the servant leader, working across sectors and political lines to make a real impact on people’s lives.
2017 Keynote Speaker - Vernon E. Jordan, Jr.
Vernon E. Jordan, Jr. is a lifelong civil rights activist, political advisor, attorney and community leader. He is currently Senior Managing Director of Lazard Frères & Co. LLC in New York and Senior Counsel with the international law firm of Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP. Previously Mr. Jordan served as President and CEO of the National Urban League, Executive Director of the United Negro College Fund, Director of the Voter Education Project of the Southern Regional Council, and Georgia Field Director of the NAACP, among other roles. A former adviser to President Clinton, Mr. Jordan’s presidential appointments include the President’s Advisory Committee for the Points of Light Initiative Foundation, the Secretary of State’s Advisory Committee on South Africa, and the Advisory Council on Social Security.

Make a Donation
Support Our Work!

Your unrestricted donation to CPPP can help us amplify our voice in the public debates about the challenges our state faces ahead.
Contact us
Find out about all of our giving options and ways you can support our work for a better Texas. Contact our Development Director Nick Canedo at 512.823.2865.
Get our Email Alerts!! Find us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Read our Blog